How I went to GP in New Zealand

Apparently you have to think twice before going to visit GP in New Zealand. Fist of all, you’ll waste your time, most likely. Secondly, you as a resident will pay $18.5 (and even more) for a visit and finally go home with a subscription for panadol or antibiotic. In the best case scenario, if your GP is responsible, they will send you to pass medical tests and then will review results and say: “Well, everything seems OK here. Let’s say if the problem wont dissappear in three month, you will come and see me again?”


I don’t know (actually, I know but I’ll tell you later) how lucky you have to be in order to get specialist’s appointment in New Zealand at the first GP visit. I guess, the stars should align special way or your should GP have his last working day before leaving his job, so he or she refers you to the specialist. Just because he was in a good state of mood. That was a real case, by the way. If you haven’t noticed, in this blog, I talk about real cases only!

When I arrived in New Zealand, I was told a lot of stories and been given a few examples showing that it’s always better to go to hospital instead of visiting GP. However, after few years I have almost forgotten that advice and went to a GP. Thanks to my genes, I have a good health and do not have any health issues so far. Well, at least, I don’t have to complain about it. I don’t suffer at all from small issues like flue and other viruses which affect 95% of my colleagues. Sometimes it happens, but very seldom. May be once in 3-4 years. So, I don’t visit GP in New Zealand. Well, I have to say I haven’t visited GP in New Zealand until one day. And as result, I step on the rake.

It wasn’t hard to make an appointment with GP in clinic I have been registered with for almost 3 years. I made a call Monday and they booked the appointment on Wednesday, which was quite good. I came to the clinic, waited for 10 minutes roughly and then was invited by a GP. Then I described a problem I have been experiencing for a few months. I listed all symptomps and described everything in detail. GP was sitting in front of PC, typing my story and didn’t make an examination. At the end, she said she would give me anti-allergen drops prescription and invite me for next appointment in three month, if I don’t feel better. Is that all? That is all 🙂

I have a feeling that you have to have severe pain and high temperature in order to get specialist’s appointment in New Zealand. Which could finally have a look at your problem and sort it out? The thing is, in that particular case, my GP wasn’t interested to find out the source of the problem I had. Hmm, you can’t breathe? Seems like you’ve got an allergy. Here is some anti-allergen drops prescription for you!

No one visits a GP just because he or she gets bored – you still have to pay for it! However, the system works that way that GP have to cut off patients. There are a way too many patients and not enough specialists, so they have to be protected. What are we having as result? We have hospitals, full of people who can’t afford to pay GP’s fee or don’t visit a GP because they understand this is useless. We have people, who are going to hospitals with a minor issues, like flue, only because it is free of charge.

Feel free to share your own experience visiting GP in New Zealand by posting a comment below. I’d love to read your own story!

Stay tuned. Get post excerpts, news and other perks not included in RSS, Feedly or somewhere else.

Join 218 other followers and receive monthly newsletter

Ivan Grigoryev's Blog
Living in New Zealand. Blogging about the country, beautiful places, everyday life.
Do a skydive - halfway completed; get 1400 - still working on; reach 300kph - completed by 96.6%

Как я ходил на прием к терапевту в Новой Зеландии

Определенно, перед тем, как идти на прием к Новозеландскому терапевту (General Practicioner) в частную клинику, нужно дважды подумать. Во-первых, вы с большой вероятностью напрасно потеряете свое время. Во-вторых, вы как резидент заплатите свои $18.5 (или даже больше) за прием и уйдете домой с рецептом на панадол или антибиотик. В лучшем случае, если терапевт попался более-менее ответственный, вас отправят сдавать анализы, посмотрев на результаты которых скорее всего разведут руками и скажут: “нуу, вроде бы все нормально. Давайте, если через 3 месяца проблема все еще будет вас беспокоить, вы придете на прием снова?”



Я не знаю (на самом деле знаю, но об этом попозже) насколько везучим необходимо быть, чтобы получить направление к узкому специалисту в Новой Зеландии с первой попытки. Полагаю, звезды должны сойтись таким образом, чтобы у вашего GP был последний рабочий день перед увольненим, он расщедрился и написал вам направление по случаю хорошего настроения. Разве что только так. Кстати, реальный случай. Здесь вообще, если вы не знали, только реальные случаи, так-то!
 

По приезду в НЗ я столько-то раз слышал истории о том, что вместо GP лучше сразу ехать/идти в госпиталь, однако по прошествии лет подзабыл и все-таки пошел к терапевту. Все-таки, спасибо генам, здоровье хорошее, жаловаться, тьфу-тьфу-тьфу пока не приходится. И потом мелкие неурядицы в виде всяких простуд и прочих вирусных инфекций которые выкашивают 95% коллег, меня слава б-гу, минуют стороной. Ну или если выкашивают, то очень редко. Может быть, раз в 3-4 года, не чаще. Поэтому по местным врачам я категорически не хожу. А тут понимаешь, такое дело – пришлось идти. Как итог, наступил на те же самые грабли.
 

Записаться на прием к терапевту в клинику, в которую мы прикреплены уже практически 3 года, удалось без особых проблем. Звонил в понедельник, прием назначили на среду. Пришел, поздоровался, через 10 минут ожидания вышла терапевт и пригласила на прием. Рассказал про проблему которая начала беспокоить последние несколько месяцев. Перечислил симптомы, описал все как есть. Терапевт все это время сидела за компьютером и печатала мои жалобы у себя на компьютере, НИ РАЗУ! не прикоснувшись ко мне и не сделав никакого осмотра. Под конец, выписала рецепт противо-аллергенных капель и предложила прийти на повторный прием через три месяца. И все? И все :)
 

Т.е. по всей видимости я должен был просто корчиться от боли, иметь температуру под 40 и только тогда может быть, мне бы выдали направление к узкому специалисту, который бы (возможно) занялся моей проблемой?
 

Казалось бы, ну какой человек в здравом уме пойдет в клинику тратить свое время в очередях по надуманной проблеме, ан нет! Система построена таким образом, что терапевтам приходится отсекать пациентов. Пациентов много, узкие специалисты одни и их нужно беречь. Что мы имеем в результате? А в результате мы имеем приемные госпиталей, забитые пациентами, которые либо не могут позволить себе прием терапевта, либо вовсе не идут к нему на прием, понимая, что это почти ничего не даст и сразу едут в госпиталь.
 

Друзья, а напишите пожалуйста про ваш опыт общения с новозеландским GP в комментариях к посту ниже – буду рад услышать другие истории тоже. В следующий раз расскажу, как мы попали в Новозеландский госпиталь и чем все это закончилось.

Удобный способ не пропустить новое в блоге. Подписывайтесь по Email, RSS или куда более модный Feedly!

На ежемесячную email рассылку подписаны 133 человек

МотоФотоПрограммист

Люблю писать разные статейки, интересные и не очень.

Иногда получаю за это бабло, разные призовые кубки и прочие ништяки.

Прыгнуть с парашютом - осуществил на 50%; приобрести 1400 - работаю над этим; осилить 300км/ч - осилил на 96.6%