A question regarding education in Hospitality and tourism

Recently I gon an email: Hi Ivan, thank you for your work! I read a lot of useful and interesting stuff in your blog. After reading your posts I have a question. I try it shorter. My husband and I thinkinkg about to move in New Zealand but it looks like we can’t afford it so we decided to send our childrens for education. Few days ago we have been on exhibition “Study abroad” where we visited PIHMS booth, which is a New Zealand Hotel Management school. A school representative described everything in a such a beautiful way so we decided to send our elder girl as she finishes high school (she is 14 y.o. now) to study abroad and then immigrate ourselves through a parent category. He also said 95% of graduates in management in hotel and restaraunt business are getting employed (in different countries not only New Zealand) because this occupation is in high demand. Of course the cost of education is very expensive (US$20,000 per year, 3 years in total) so we have to sell our property. He also said that our investment will be returned very quickly because salaries in that area are very good. We also have two more kids to grow. After reading your blog I understand he could hide something and the reality is not so brilliant. I really want a best life for my kids. Have you heard anything about that school? Is it very popular? Does it educate very well or it’s just wasting of money? Thanks. Appreciate if you could find anything.


  • Have you heard anything about this school?
  • I have never heard about that school before just because I work in a totally different area.

  • To send our elder girl for overseas studying and then immigrate ouselves through a parent category
  • As far as I know, Parent Category is being temporarily closed to new applications. Immigration New Zealand will not make selections from the Parent Category Pool until further notice. Who knows, may be at some poing this category will be even cancelled. That is to say even if your child will get an education and residency, you won’t be able to become a resident based on this fact mostlikely.

  • 95% of graduates of management in hotel and restaraunt business are getting employed (in different countries and New Zealand) because this occupation is in high demand
  • Please also keep in mind that studying overseas doesn’t guarantee 100% that you will be hired in New Zealand or somewhere else. Follow this url to see Jobs listed in Management in Hospitality and tourism section. By the time this post was published, there were around 500 different jobs listed in New Zealand.

  • The cost of education is very expensive (US$20,000 per year, 3 years in total) so we have to sell our property
  • That’s really not a good idea, especially if you are going to sell your only property. Should I explain why? Just imagine that after graduation, your children have to come back. As an option, if you already got an experience in Hospitality, you can get one year Graduate Diploma Level 7 which should be 3 times cheaper.

  • He also said that our investment will be returned very quickly because of very good salaries in this area.
  • Here you must understand no “investment return” can be considered during the study. Browse for PIHMS official website and read about Paid industry placement. Basically they are saying it is possible to earn up to $30,000 during your study on a paid industry placement throughout your 3 years study. The keyword is ‘up to’.
    Students are paid Industry rates range from $15.25 to $24 per hour during full-time placements.
    With regard to return investment after the graduation.. I can say that according to statistics, Hospitality and Tourism is one of the lowest paying industries. Please see Hospitality & tourism salary information for full-time roles listed on Trade Me Jobs between July 2015 and December 2015 below:

    CategoryRange
    Bar staff & baristas$32k$25k – $45k
    Chefs$39k$27k – $55k
    Housekeeping$33k$25k – $47k
    Kitchen staff$32k$25k – $42k
    Management$42k$30k – $75k
    Reception & front desk$35k$25k – $45k
    Tourism & tour guides$35k$25k – $60k
    Travel consultants$45k$35k – $55k
    Waiting staff$35k$25k – $45k

    As you can see, the median salary in Management in Hospitality & Tourism is just NZD$42,000 annum. 😐

    P.S. I am deeply convinced I don’t have any right to give you any advice but in your place, I would be:
    1. thinking about getting highest payed qualification
    2. choosing an occupation which is in high demand in both in New Zealand and your home country

    Hope it helps. A few more useful urls:

    Hospitality & tourism salary information
    Hospitality & tourism jobs in New Zealand

    Stay tuned. Get post excerpts, news and other perks not included in RSS, Feedly or somewhere else.

    Join 209 other followers and receive monthly newsletter

    Ivan Grigoryev's Blog
    Living in New Zealand. Blogging about the country, beautiful places, everyday life.
    Do a skydive - halfway completed; get 1400 - still working on; reach 300kph - completed by 96.6%

Вопрос по учебе в сфере обслуживания и Туризма

Читатель пишет: Иван, здравствуйте. Спасибо за ваш труд! Много интересного и полезного для себя почерпнула. После ознакомления с вашими статьями, у меня такой вопрос возник. Постараюсь покороче описать. С мужем давно думали уехать в НЗ, но в финансовом плане не потянули бы и решили попробовать через детей. На днях были на выставке «Обучение за рубежом» и попали на презентацию PIHMS — это школа гостеприимства в Новой Зеландии. Представитель этой школы так все красиво расписал, что мы просто «загорелись» отправить нашу старшую дочь(ей пока 14 лет) после 11 класса на обучение. Как раз есть время вплотную заняться языком. Он сказал что 95% студентов сразу трудоустраиваются (в разные страны мира, в т.ч. и в НЗ), т.к. профессия очень востребованная (управление в сфере отельного, ресторанного бизнеса). Конечно это обучение очень дорого для нас (3 года по 20000 $ США) Придется продавать недвижимость. Но, по его словам, это быстро окупается, т.к з/платы в этой сфере хорошие. (А у нас, помимо старшей, еще 2 детей растить). Почитав ваши статьи, понимаю ,что он мог что-то не досказать и не так все радужно на самом деле. Так хочется хотя бы для детей лучшей жизни. Вы что-нибудь слышали про эту школу в НЗ? Реально она так востребована и дает хорошее образование или это привлечение денег в государство. Спасибо. Если что-то узнаете, буду очень благодарна.


  • Вы что-нибудь слышали про эту школу в НЗ?
  • Могу с уверенностью сказать что про школу я ни разу не слышал, поскольку я работаю в совершенно другой области.

  • Попробовать через детей
  • Насколько я знаю, выдача вида на жительство Новой Зеландии через родительскую категорию временно приостановлена. Иммиграционные службы Новой Зеландии не производят прием анкет на получение вида на жительство по родительской категории на неопределенное время. В перспективе может сложиться даже так, что эту визу отменят. Т.е ребенка вы, может быть и отучите, но вот стать на основании этого резидентом или гражданином скорее всего не получится.

  • 95% студентов сразу трудоустраиваются (в разные страны мира, в т.ч. и в НЗ), т.к. профессия очень востребованная (управление в сфере отельного, ресторанного бизнеса)
  • Имейте в виду, что обучение само по себе не является гарантией последующего трудоустройства ни в Новой Зеландии, ни тем более «в других странах мира» куда точно также потребуется разрешение на работу. По ссылке можете посмотреть вакансии из раздела Management in Hospitality and Tourism по всей Новой Зеландии. На момент публикации этого поста было доступно около 500 вакансий.

  • Это обучение очень дорого для нас (3 года по 20000 $ США). Придется продавать недвижимость.
  • Не самая хорошая идея, тем более если это ваше единственное жилье. Наверное нет смысла объяснять почему? Представьте, что после окончания обучения ребенку придется или захочется вернуться? Как вариант, при наличии опыта в сфере обслуживания, можно отучиться на годовой программе в PIHMS, что в теории должно получиться дешевле в три раза.

  • По его словам, это быстро окупается, т.к з/платы в этой сфере хорошие
  • Тут нужно понимать что ни о какой окупаемости во время обучения не может быть и речи.
    Идем на официальный сайт учебного заведения, читаем: «PIHMS гарантирует трудоустройство фулл-тайм» в процессе обучения и заработок до NZD$30,000 за две 6 месячных практики на протяжении всего трехгодичного обучения. Ключевое слово: ДО NZD$30,000.
    Далее, оплата работы во время обучения производится по ставке NZD$15.25 — $24 до уплаты налогов, что как бы тоже не фонтан.

    Что касается окупаемости затрат на учебу после ее окончания.. Согласно статистике, Сфера обслуживания и Туризма Новой Зеландии входит в число отраслей с самыми низкими зарплатами. Ниже можете ознакомиться с таблицей зарплат для фулл-тайм вакансий сектора Hospitality & tourism размещенные на сайте trademe.co.nz за период с июля по декабрь 2015 года:

    КатегорияМедианная зарплата (в год)Вилка зарплат (в год)
    Бармены, бариста$32k$25k — $45k
    Шеф-повара$39k$27k — $55k
    Housekeeping$33k$25k — $47k
    Персонал кухни$32k$25k — $42k
    Управление$42k$30k — $75k
    Reception$35k$25k — $45k
    Туристические гиды$35k$25k — $60k
    Туристические консультанты$45k$35k — $55k
    Официанты$35k$25k — $45k

    На основании чего видим, что медианная зарплата в сфере управления в Hospitality & Tourism составляет всего NZD$42,000 в год 😐

    P.S. Я глубоко убежден что не имею никакого права давать какие-либо советы, однако, на вашем месте я бы наверное:
    1. задумался в сторону более оплачиваемых специальностей
    2. подстраховался и выбрал специальность, востребуемую как в Новой Зеландии, так и в России

    Надеюсь, помог. Еще полезные ссылки:

    Hospitality & tourism salary information
    Hospitality & tourism jobs in New Zealand

    Удобный способ не пропустить новое в блоге. Подписывайтесь по Email, RSS или куда более модный Feedly!

    На ежемесячную email рассылку + бонус подписаны 164 человек

    Мотофотопрограммист
    Живу в Новой Зеландии. Рассказываю о стране и красивых местах, пишу про бытовые вещи.
    Прыгнуть с парашютом - осуществил на 50%; приобрести 1400 - работаю над этим; осилить 300км/ч - осилил на 96.6%