Altay road trip, day three

We stayed overnight in a motel in Kosh-Agach, which cost us 800 rubles for a two bedroom room. It was definitely not the best place to stay however, it was almost impossible to get anything better at 1AM. I have to admit, after spending the whole day on the road, we had a very well sleep. By the way, during the night, the temperature has dropped down to +7C. We woke up, had a shower, got our car fuelled up, had a breakfast at Elaman cafe and move back to North. I think everyone was complaining about headake. Looks like we got mountain sickness, finally. Think about it – on day before, we passed through a few mountain passes, with altitude difference up to two thousand meters! So it was wise to drive back to the Gas station to buy a fresh coffee. 🙂


Part one. “Mars”

Kyzyl-Chin is literally piece of Mars here on Earth. At some point we thought that the place can be seen from Chuysky tract, however, to get there, we had to drive 20 kilometers to pass Chuya river over the bridge and then drive further through steppe following road signs put there by agropark employees.

As soon as we arrived at the carpark, we were told that every passenger have to pay 100 rubles for the carpark. We refuced and then stuff member gave us an advice in a very polite way to drive up on the far hill, where we could observe and enjoy Mars-1, Mars-2 and even some ancient petroglyphs for free. I think I need to tell you a bit more about charges and fees you have to pay when you travel through Mountain Altay, but not today.

So, we followed the advice, turned around, drove 1.5 kilometers and then pulled of the road towards the hill through the steppe. As soon as we got on the summit we had seen such an amazing views!





Mars is a very cool place! I was very upset to leave it. I wish we could have an hour or two of spare time, so we could walk and enjoy Marsian landscapes from a closer distance.

And now we are driving again on Chuysky trakt, making a short stops near lookouts, waterfalls and springs to get some fresh water.




Part two. “Geyser lake”

The name of the lake can be misleading, because there are no geysers in Altay mountains. And it would be better to call it as a Blue lake. It is located in Ulagan regeon, nearby Aktash village, close enough to the Chuysky tract however, you have to walk 10 minutes to the lake. We were charged 30 rubles each for the pass made through a swamp.

And I think it was definitely worth it. It is a very clear and beautiful lake, surrounded by mistical pine tree forest.

There is a spring at the bottom of the lake, so you can see how it pushes sand and clay and creates this fantastical patterns.

Just in case, here is another picture, showing a group of tourists around the lake so you don’t get confused.


Wooden walkway and again, group of tourists walking back from the lake.

Part three. “Katu Jaryk Pass”

We made a stop at Aktash to have lunch. Surprisingly to us, every lamb meal at the cafe that we had lunch was cooked with beef. Also, we noticed, there are lack of honey in Mountain Altay. Atleast, you can not buy crepes with honey. We moved further, After we had our meals finished. As soon as you leave Aktash village there is a local sight, Red gates – a very narrow passage in between two red rocks, near Chibitka stream.

These rocks have cinnabar which is the reason they are red coloured. The higth of both rocks is around 50 meters.

We didn’t stop neither at Ulagan township, neither at Balyktuyul village so we got at Katu Jaryk one hour before sunset. The pass into the valley of Chulyshman river is made at the mountain side with an angle of 35 degrees. Before Katu Jaryk pass was opened in 1987, locals had been using a very steep horse track.

Being translated from Altay language, Jaryk means gorge.

Just a boulder on the edge of the abyss, every tourist should make a picture with

Stone towers, as a gratefulness and offerings to mountain spirits for a successful passage

It turned out, that in 2011, there was a construction of another, new, safer and alternative pass, however, all roadworks were stopped in 2015 😐

Very impressive. It just 800 meters in height but when you look at these mountains it seems like 1500!



Valley of Chulyshman river, which flows straight into Teletskoye Lake

Part four, final and most emotional. “Descent”

As I already mentioned, the height of pass is 800 meters,

The lenght of pass is 3.5 kilometers, it has 9 turns, and it is sealed with gravel.

We drove down without any issues, not to mentioned our ladies were scared to death. Well, think about it – very narrow and windy mountain road, almost sheer slope and bottomless abyss! о_О

We stayed overnight at Katu Jaryk camp, in a small bach houses with double bedroom, which cost us 500 rubles each. Bathrooms are outside.

I would say it’s a cozy place I would like to recommend. We especially enjoyed to relax in a brand new banya, which cost us 700 rubles per hour. It just made our day!

Another guest houses, dozens of them! And a little bit of math. Average price you pay to stay at these houses is 1000 rubles. Let’s say tourist season here lasts only 100 days per year. Now, multiply this by amount of guest houses, which is around 10 to 20 and you get one, may be two million of rubles, plus additional profits made in cafe and banya. With no ensuit rooms. I think, not too bad!

It was obvious to us that our guest house was a brand new – there was a smell of pine tree inside, furniture and beddings was new as well.

Washbasins

Every guest house has a small summer house

Oleg has cought grayling in Chulyshman river

The evening promised to be very interesting! We opened a bottle of Abhaz wine, cooked a soup and spent time chatting and thinking about our plans for tomorrow. Including the ascent to the top of the pass.

To be continued…

  • 5

Stay tuned. Get post excerpts, news and other perks not included in RSS, Feedly or somewhere else.

Join 211 other followers and receive monthly newsletter

Ivan Grigoryev's Blog
Living in New Zealand. Blogging about the country, beautiful places, everyday life.
Do a skydive - halfway completed; get 1400 - still working on; reach 300kph - completed by 96.6%

Другой Горный Алтай, день третий

В Кош-Агач мы заночевали в полу-убитой гостинице в двухместных номерах по 400 рублей с носа. Собственно, найти другие, более-менее вменяемые варианты после 12 ночи было проблематично. На удивление, спалось, после долгой и трудной дороги достаточно свежо и лего. Между прочим, температура на улице с утра была всего 7 градусов. Проснулись, приняли душ, съездили на заправку, подкрепились завтраком в кафе Еламан и двинули дальше, теперь уже на север. Практически все участники жаловались на небольшую головную боль – определенно, у нас всех развилась горная болезнь в ее самой простой форме. Судите сами – за вчерашний день мы прошли несколько перевалов с перепадами высоты до двух тысяч метров. Так что повторный заезд на заправку для покупки свежего кофе был весьма кстати :)



Часть первая. “Марс”

Урочище Кызыл-Чин это натурально Марс на земле. В какой-то момент нам показалось, что урочище было краешком видно непосредственно с Чуйского тракта, однако чтобы попасть к нему напрямую, нам пришлось сделать крюк в почти 20 километров до ближайшего моста через реку Чуя и далее по степи к самому урочищу через указатели, расставленные работниками агропарка..


Непосредственно на парковке агропарка нам было сказано, что парковка платная, по 100 рублей с человека. Мы отказались, на что нам было вежливо посоветовано, что если подняться своим ходом вооон на ту гору, можно увидеть Марс-1, Марс-2 и даже петроглифы забесплатно. Спасибо, что не побили. Вообще, тема с поборами на Алтае стоит отдельного поста, но не сегодня.


Итак, мы последовали совету – развернулись, проехали 1.5 километра и затем свернули с дороги, доехали до горы через степь, поднялись на самую вершину и лицезрели вооот такую красоту!










На Марсе классно! Было просто жаль уезжать. Будь у нас час или два свободного времени, мы бы обязательно побродили и по самим Марсианским полям тоже.


А сейчас мы снова отправляемся в путь, делая небольшие остановки возле смотровых и кристально чистых источников и водопадов с тем, чтобы пополнить запасы воды.








Часть вторая. “Гейзерное озеро”

Гейзерами, тут конечно и не пахнет и было бы правильно называть озеро голубым. Озеро находится в Улаганском районе, недалеко от поселка Акташ, в непосредственной близости от Чуйского тракта, однако до самого озера нужно идти около 10 минут пешком. За проход к озеру (сюрприз!) с нас взяли по 30 рублей с человека. Причем взяли именно за обустроенный проход к озеру по деревянным настилам через болото.


И я склонен считать, что оно определенно того стоило! Озеро очень чистое и холодное и окружено таинственным хвойно-лиственым лесом.


Невооруженным глазом можно увидеть, как течение на дне озера очень медленно выбрасывает смесь песка и глины, создавая необычные концентрические узоры.


Для контраста покажу озеро в окружении группы туристов, чтобы вы вдруг не подумали чего лишнего




Сами настилы и толпа туристов, идуших назад от озера на территорию турбазы.


Часть третья. “Перевал Кату-Ярык”

Остановку на обед сделали в поселке Акташ. Удивительно, но даже традиционные блюда с бараниной в кафе были с говядиной. Еще мы заметили что в Горном Алтае какой-то дефицит меда. По-крайней мере, вы не сможете купить блинчики с медом. А вот со сгущенкой пожалуйста! Подкрепившись как следует, двинули дальше в сторону Улагана. Практически сразу же за поселком находится природная достопримечательность, Красные ворота – узкий извилистый проход между отвесными скалами красного цвета возле реки Чибитка.


Скалы возле прохода содержат киноварь, чем и обусловлен их красный цвет. Высота скал — около 50 метров.


И Улаган, и следующий сразу за ним поселок Балыктуюль мы проехали без остановок, приехав к перевалу Кату Ярык практически за час до заката. Спуск в долину реки Чулышман проложен в склоне горы с крутизной в 35 градусов. До открытия первала в 1987 году, жители окрестных деревень пользовались крутой конной тропой, либо водным путем через телецкое озеро.


В переводе с южно-алтайского, jарык – расщелина; буквально – теснина, ущелье.


Камень на краю пропасти, с которым все фотографируются


Каменные пирамидки – благодарность и приношения горным духам за успешное прохождение перевала


Оказывается, в октябре 2011 года началось строительство нового более безопасного перевала, призванного стать альтернативным спуском, однако, по состоянию на 2015й год все дорожные работы были заморожены 😐


Очень монументально. Вроде бы всего восемьсот метров, а воспринимаются, как полторы тысячи!






Долина реки Чулышман, впадающей в Телецкое озеро


Часть четвертая, заключительная и самая эмоциональная. “Спуск”

Как я уже говорил, высота перевала от подножия – 800 метров,


Длина спуска – 3.5 километра, спуск содержит 9 поворотов, дорожное покрытие – грунт и камни.


Спуск прошел без приключений, однако изрядно потрепал нервишки нашим участницам. Шутка ли! Узкая горная дорога, практически отвесный склон и бездонная пропасть! о_О


На ночлег остановились на турбазе Кату-Ярык, в двухместных номерах по 500 рублей с человека, с удобствами на улице.


Довольно уютное местечко, рекомендую. Свежесрубленая баня за 700 рублей в час просто сделала наш день.


Целая череда домиков неподалеку, а также немного арифметики. Средняя стоимость двухместного домика в сутки – 1000 рублей. Для простоты будем считать, что домики гарантированно заполняются 100 дней в году. Умножаем на количество домиков на базе или что-то около 10-20, получаем около одного-миллиона рублей за сезон на аренде, а также сопутствующие доходы с кафе и бани неподалеку. И это за деревянные летние домики без удобств. По-моему, весьма неплохо!


Было видно, что наш домик тоже был срублен недавно – в номере пахло сосной, мебель и постельные принадлежности были абсолютно нулёвыми.


Умывальники


Возле каждого домика стояла беседка для непогоды


Олег наловил хариуса на засолку в притоках реки Чулышман


Вечер обещал быть весьма интересным! Откупорили бутылочку абхазского вина, сварили суп и прекрасно посидели до наступления темноты, обсуждая планы на завтра и вообще, включая предстоящий подъем вверх по перевалу.


Продолжение следует…

Удобный способ не пропустить новое в блоге. Подписывайтесь по Email, RSS или куда более модный Feedly!

На ежемесячную email рассылку подписаны 133 человек

МотоФотоПрограммист

Люблю писать разные статейки, интересные и не очень.

Иногда получаю за это бабло, разные призовые кубки и прочие ништяки.

Прыгнуть с парашютом - осуществил на 50%; приобрести 1400 - работаю над этим; осилить 300км/ч - осилил на 96.6%