Auckland Central City Library

I think I have been asked for a virtual excursion at famous Auckland Central City Library nearly a year by my sister in law who is head of Library department in Tomsk State Medical University – I apologise for long waiting, but I have an excuse! First of all, I am busy as always; secondly, I am not a printed book fan and hence not a permanent library visitor; third and most important, you can’t just go into Central library anytime and make pictures of anything you want. Anyway, puzzle was solved and as result, you can watch a short tour below. Of course it is impossible to cover everything in 45 pictures with comments but I hope you will get some impression at least 🙂


Central City Library which I’m going to show you today is a part of Auckland’s regeon library network, which was created after 7 separate councils were merged in 2010. At the moment Auckland libraries is the biggest library network in Southern Hemisphere with 55 branches. It has approximately 3.5 million items including fiction and non-fiction books, music, CDs, DVDs, games, audio books, foreign languages and reference materials.

As you can guess, Central City Library is located at CBD. Library’s entrance is situated from Lorn street:

Behind the gates there are antitheft scanners preventing visitors from stealing books and other materials from library:

A little bit further there are registration tables with library staff happy to help you in any time, affaible but a little bit shy – only security guy had agreed to make a picture. Well, I didn’t insist.

Behind them there is another bigger staff table. Actually there are plenty of them:

Aucklanders can register in library for free. You can fill registration form which is printed in library or online and then come into library with your ID and Proof of address to activate your account. You will get library card with bar code which you have to scan every time you are going to borrow matereals from library using such kind of tables:

First, you are scanning your card, then you are scanning books – separately or all together, just put whole stack of them onto the table. So, as you can see, books registration procedure is very simple and fast, because you are saving time of your own and library staff. However, if book has any audio or video CDs, you have to ask librarian to register it.

You can borrow a book for 28 days, after that you can prolong that book for another 28 days if no one’s waiting for it. Books and another materials enquiries can be made through official library web site, so you don’t have to go into library. Few days before deadline you will get an email with reminding to return borrowed book to the library. Fees and library charges available here. After you finished reading or before deadline book should be returned to library through special wholes in the wall – they will be scanned by librarians and returned into proper department.

First floor have books for people learning foreign languages (I was very surprised when I found some Russian books), fiction books and books for children and also movies on DVD. You can borrow a movie just for $2. Some disks are free, mostly they are non-fiction movies. Opposite to that section there is Esquire coffee shop.

Also, there is a free internet access zone for library customers. Guests, I mean people who don’t have a library card, also can use these computers after being registered as visitors. For example, tourists, foreign students etc. Every year, approximately 12 million people visit Auckland Libraries to find something, borrow it, read it, search on the internet, learn something new, study, met friends, joint an event, computer learning classes and more. By the way, all PC have Microsoft Office programms, e.g: Word, Excel etc. Second floor also has its own computer zone. Computer session there lasts for one hour. First floor session is 20 minutes only:

Rigt at hand, on Ground Floor there is child zone where parents may leave their children while they are busy to find some books or reading them. Auckland librries programs includes Wriggle and Rhyme: Active Movement for Early Learning for babies; storytime for toddlers; book clubs for teens and adults:

Soft and very comfortable materials have choosen especially for child zone. So soft, that some visitors like to fall into childhood for a while 🙂

Library hall has a lots of places where visitors can have access to library catalogue and require information he needs. Take a look at bookshelf with yellow alpabet letters – if you reserved a book which is not available at the moment, it will be placed at this bookshelf especially for you after someone have finished reading so, you don’t have to worry about it. The same is true for books from another library branches – you can ask any book to be delivered into another branch which is more suitable for you. Readers will get notification from Library via email/phone/letter when book is ready and waiting for them. Books can be reserved through Auckland Livraries web site.

All right! Let’s go on Level 1 via elevators!

Or, using a lift. New Zealand has emphasized respect for people with disabilities and the Central Library is not an exception.

I have to note, Level 1 has non-fiction books only, while Ground floor has fiction books. I’d like to mention very well-chosen color design interior of Central City Library:

Music department with lots of CDs:

bookshelfs with books on different subjects

Another bookshelfs. There is thousands of them!

I managed to put my camera into silent mode but even this didn’t help and sometime I was being asked by librarians what I was doing there, because it is prohibited to make a pictures in library. I answered that I was making a pictures, made a smile and shown them my permit.

Another self-serving desk with PC:

Along the perimeter of the building, there are tables along the windows where anyone may sit down, read book or get internet access via own laptop, tablet or another device – most of Auckland libraries have WiFi routers. Registered users have 1Gigabyte internet traffic per day. Overal internet sessions amount is around 2.2 millions per year:

Digital library has more then 100 databases and provides access to information around the world, incdluding audio and e-books which can be loaded.

Don’t ask me how, but I got into library’s sanctuary – the repository of books!

Books repository facilities are located under ground and have two storeys:

Every year library visitors borrow around 15 millions of book and materials. All of them are returned and reshelved, equating to 45 million handling transactions per year:

I will not hide emotions, personally I was impressed greatly:

Written off books (there is massive clearanse of them every year in Library):

27.

Then I came into department of distribution of new materials, where all new books from around the world coming for Auckland Libraries: books are sorted, bar codes added, all information related is put inty library’s computer system and then books are delivered onto libraries bookshelves:

I think that occasionally I disturbed head of department who took my permit and went to management just to check whether I might make a pictures. Despite the fact that all was resolved safely, I didn’t manage to take some shots, which I regret because it was very interesting there!

After I thanked head of department for spending her time with me and saying goodbye, I went to the Level 2 , close to Central Auckland Research Centre.

Central Auckland Research Centre has one of the most comprehensive international Family History collections in a public library in the Southern Hemisphere and covers the following countries: New Zealand (including whakapapa), Australia, England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, mainland Europe, South Africa, USA, Canada and the Pacific Islands:

So if somehow you become interested in you family history or you are keen to learn how your ancestors came in Auckland or find their birth/marrieage/death sertificate you have to go there.

Here you can find big collection of Chinese settlement

39.

The Research Centre has a team of skilled research librarians specialising in local and family history research, and are available without appointment during Central Library’s normal opening hours:

41.

You can use any of the six microfilm/microfiche reader-printers to read the newspapers here.

Also, you can take a scan of an article or page of a newspaper and save the scanned pages as TIFF files onto a USB memory stick for free.

Newspaper department:

32.

33.

34.

36.

44.

I hope, I liked it and you will go to the library and register if you still haven’t done this and you will become a regular reader 🙂 Knowledge is power!

Official web site of Auckland Libraries aucklandlibraries.govt.nz

Working hours: Monday to Friday 9am – 8pm; Saturday and Sunday 10am – 4pm

I’d like to thank Auckland Library for permitition to photograph and also I’d like to thank Library staff members for their time and help!

Stay tuned. Get post excerpts, news and other perks not included in RSS, Feedly or somewhere else.

Join 239 other followers and receive monthly newsletter

Ivan Grigoryev's Blog
Living in New Zealand. Blogging about the country, beautiful places, everyday life.
Do a skydive - halfway completed; get 1400 - still working on; reach 300kph - completed by 96.6%

Центральная городская библиотека Окленда

Кажется, скоро пойдет второй год, с тех пор как меня попросили сделать виртуальную экскурсию по знаменитой центральной библиотеке Окленда — приношу извинения за столь долгий срок, на то были весьма веские причины! Во-первых, как всегда некогда; во-вторых, я все-таки не фанат печатных книг и поэтому увы, не частый гость библиотеки; в третьих, и что самое главное, в библиотеку Окленда нельзя прийти просто так, когда вздумается и поснимать что захочется. Тем не менее, все наконец-таки срослось и как результат, вашему вниманию предлагается краткий экскурс под катом. Разумеется, что рассказать обо всем в рамках отчета из 45 фотокарточек с комментариями невозможно но, я надеюсь, что хоть какое-то представление о библиотеке вы все-таки получите :)



Центральная библиотека Окленда, о которой пойдет речь сегодня, входит в систему библиотек региона Окленд созданной после объединения семи административных округов города в 2010 году. На данный момент сеть является крупнейшей во всем Южном полушарии и насчитывает 55 отделений. Коллекция библиотечной сети состоит из примерно 3.5 миллиона материалов, включая художественную и документальную литературу, музыку, компакт диски, игры, аудио книги а также книги на иностранных языках.

Находится Центральная библиотека Окленда, как нетрудно догадаться, в центральном бизнес районе города. Вход в библиотеку расположен со стороны Lorn street:

Сразу за раздвижными входными дверьми стоят antitheft сканеры, чтобы никто из «забывчивых» посетителей библиотеки ненароком не вынес книжки и прочие материалы из библиотеки:

Еще чуть далее, располагаются столики регистрации с сотрудниками библиотеки, всегда готовыми прийти на помощь; приветливыми, правда слегка стеснительными при виде камеры — сфотографироваться согласился только охранник. В принципе, я не настаивал.

Сразу за ним стоит еще один столик для персонала, побольше. В действительности там их несколько:

Регистрация в библиотеках Окленда бесплатна для его жителей. Вы можете заполнить специальную форму либо в самой библиотеке, либо онлайн, а затем принести свой ID и Proof of address в библиотеку для активации аккаунта. По завершению процедуры регистрации вам выдадут читательский билет, она же карта с бар-кодом, которую вам необходимо сканировать каждый раз перед тем как взять книги на дом на вот таких столиках:

Сначала сканируете читательский билет, а затем сканируете книжки — можете по отдельности, а можете все сразу, стопкой, положив их на стол. Таким образом, процедура регистрации книг и их списания упрощается в разы. А самое главное, вы и сотрудники библиотеки экономите драгоценное время. Впрочем, в случае если книга содержит аудио-видео материалы на компакт дисках, вам все же придется оформить ее у библиотекаря.

Книгу можно одолжить на 28 дней, после чего вы можете продлить еще один раз на 28 дней при условии что эту книгу не запросил другой пользователь библиотеки. Запросы на книгу или любой другой материал оформляются через веб-сайт библиотеки, т.е необходимости приходить лично в библиотеку нет, все можно сделать онлайн. За несколько дней до дедлайна библиотека рассылает емейл с напоминанием о необходимости возвращения книжки. Штрафы а также тарифы за пользование платными ресурсами библиотеки Окленда можете узнать тут. После прочтения или наступления срока возврата книжки необходимо вернуть через вот такие отверстия по приему, расположенные в стене — cотрудники библиотеки отсканируют книги и вернут их на место в нужный отдел:

На первом этаже находится разделы с книгами для изучающих иностранные языки (есть даже книги на русском, чему я очень удивился), художественная и детская литература, а также диски с фильмами. Фильм напрокат можно взять за $2. Есть диски, которые можно взять бесплатно. На них стоит пометка «Free». Обычно это документальные фильмы. Прямо напротив отдела, т.е внутри самого здания библиотеки находится кафетерий Эсквайр.

А также зона с доступом в интернет для зарегистрированных пользователей библиотеки. «Гости библиотеки», т.е пользователи, не имеющие карточки, тоже могут пользоваться компьютерами, их регистрируют как visitors. Например туристы, иностранные студенты и т.п. Каждый год, библиотеки Окленда посещает примерно 12 миллионов человек. Люди приходят чтобы найти что-либо, одолжить, почитать, поискать в интернете, узнать новую информацию, поучиться, встретить друзей, посетить мероприятие или определенный класс по улучшению навыков работы с ПК, в том числе мероприятия с приглашенными спикерами, ночь кино, программы на время школьных каникул и многое другое. К слову, все компьютеры, оснащены пакетом программ Microsoft Office: Word, Excel и т.п. На втором этаже есть ещё одна компьютерная зона. Там одна сессия длится 1 час. А на первом этаже только 20 минут:

Тут же, на первом этаже размещена детская зона, где родители могут оставить своих малышей пока сами заняты поиском книг или их чтением. Есть специальные программы для развития малышей/младшего детсадовского возраста с использованием музыки, считалочек/песенок/стишков-потешек:

Специально для детской зоны подобраны очень мягкие и комфортные материалы отделки. Настолько мягкие, что я не удивлен почему некоторые читатели ненадолго впадают здесь в детство :)

В зале библиотеки расположено несколько точек где посетитель может получить доступ к каталогу библиотеки и запросить необходимую ему информацию. Обратите внимание на стеллаж с желтыми табличками алфавитных букв — если вы забронировали книгу, которую кто-то читает, сразу же после ее возвращения она будет размещена на этом стенде, персонально для вас и вам не нужно будет волноваться что ее кто-нибудь перехватит. Тоже самое справедливо для книг, находящихся в других общественных библиотеках города — вы можете попросить, чтобы книгу доставили в более удобное для вас отделение. О том, что книга ждёт читателя на полке он узнает с помощью уведомления (e-mail/телефон/письмо). Книжки резервируются через все тот же веб сайт библиотек Окленда.

Поднимаемся на второй этаж с помощью эскалаторов.

Или на лифте. В Новой Зеландии подчеркнуто уважительное отношение к людям с ограниченными возможностями, и Центральная библиотека не исключение.

Уместно заметить, что второй этаж (Level 1) посвящён только нехудожественной литературе, в то время как первый этаж (Ground floor) — художественной. Что мне хочется подчеркнуть, так это очень удачно подобранные цвета оформления внутренних помещений библиотеки:

Отдел с музыкальными дисками:

Стеллажи с книгами по разной тематике

И еще стеллажи с книгами. Тысячи их!

Надо заметить, что я предварительно перевел камеру в Silent режим, но даже это не помогало и периодически ко мне подходил бдительный персонал библиотеки и вежливо спрашивал, что я здесь делаю, поскольку съемка в библиотеке запрещена. Я говорил что снимаю, улыбался и доставал разрешение.

Еще одна точка самообслуживания:

По периметру здания, вдоль окон находятся столики, где любой может присесть, почитать книгу или бесплатно выйти в интернет через свой ноутбук, планшет или любое другое устройство — большинство библиотек Окленда оснащено WiFi роутерами. На одного зарегистрированного пользователя библиотеки действует лимит в 1Гигабайт в день. Общее число интернет сессий в год доходит до 2.2 миллиона:

Цифровая библиотека насчитывает более 100 баз данных и предоставляет доступ к информации со всего мира в том числе к электронным и аудио книгам, которые могут быть загружены.

Не спрашивайте меня как, но каким-то образом я оказался в святая-святых библиотеки, а именно в ее хранилище!

Помещения хранилища библиотеки находятся под землей и занимают целых два этажа здания:

В общей сложности, каждый год посетители сети библиотек Окленда берут для прочтения около 15 миллионов материалов. Все эти материалы затем возвращаются и перескладируются, что в итоге составляет до 45 миллионов транзакций в год:

Не буду скрывать эмоций, лично меня впечатлило сильно:

Списанные книги (раз в году библиотека устраивает большую распродажу списанных книг):

27.

Далее я оказался в отделе распределения новых материалов, куда доставляют новые поступления со всех стран и уголков мира для Библиотек Окленда: полученные книги сортируются, оснащаются бар-кодами; информация о книгах вносится в систему и уже затем книги поступают на полки библиотек города:

Честно сказать, я невольно навел шороху на работающих здесь сотрудников. Нач отдела даже зачем-то взяла мое официальное разрешение и пошла к более главному для уточнения, просто на всякий случай. Несмотря на то, что все разрешилось благополучно, кое-какие кадры сделать не получилось, а жаль, здесь весьма интересно!

Поблагодарив за уделенное мне время и попрощавшись, я вышел на третий этаж библиотеки, в непосредственно близости от Исследовательского центра библиотеки.

Исследовательский центр библиотеки Окленда содержит одну из самых всеобъемлющих коллекций местных и фамильных историй в Южном полушарии, охватывающую следующие страны: Новую Зеландию (в том числе традиционную генеалогию Маори, Факапапа), Австралию, Англию, Ирландию, Шотландию, Уэльс, континентальную Европу, Южную Африку, США, Канаду, и острова Тихого океана:

Так что если вы вдруг заинтересовались своей фамильной историей, или хотите узнать как ваши предки попали в Окленд а также поднять сертификат о рождении/замужестве/смерти вашего пра-пра-родственника, вам определенно сюда.

Здесь же содержится большая коллекция истории китайского поселения и китайской генеалогии

39.

Научно-исследовательский центр имеет команду квалифицированных научных специалистов, специализирующихся на исследовании фамильной истории к которым вы можете обратиться во время рабочих часов Центрального библиотеки, без предварительной записи:

41.

К вашим услугам любой из шести микрофильм/микрофиши ридеров для чтения газет. Ридеры доступны по предварительной записи на один час с возможностью продления:

А также сканер, с помощью которого вы можете сделать копию статьи или газетной страницы и сохранить на свою USB флэшку, бесплатно:

Газетный отдел:

32.

33.

34.

36.

44.

Надеюсь, что вам понравилось и вы, если вы до сих пор еще не зарегистрированы в библиотеке, сделаете это как можно скорее и станете ее постоянным читателем 🙂 Знание сила!

Официальный сайт библиотек Окленда: aucklandlibraries.govt.nz

Часы работы Центральной библиотеки Окленда: будние дни с 9 утра до 8 вечера; выходные с 10 до 4

P.s Выражаю благодарность Библиотеке Окленда и ее сотрудникам за разрешение и помощь в проведении съемок!

Удобный способ не пропустить новое в блоге. Подписывайтесь по Email, RSS или куда более модный Feedly!

На ежемесячную email рассылку + бонус подписаны 164 человек

Мотофотопрограммист
Живу в Новой Зеландии. Рассказываю о стране и красивых местах, пишу про бытовые вещи.
Прыгнуть с парашютом - осуществил на 50%; приобрести 1400 - работаю над этим; осилить 300км/ч - осилил на 96.6%