Eggplants stewed with vegetables

Just wanted to share with you a recipe of a very descent vegetable meal I was trying when I was staying at my friends place in Novosibirsk. We need two eggplants, three capsicums, three tomatoes, three onions, two carrots and two clove of garlic. Time to prepare: 20 minutes. Time to cook: 40 minutes. As for me, I spent 90 minutes for cooking plus making pictures 🙂


Wash veges thoroughly and start dicing eggplants. Advice: it is better to cut eggplant’s part which is closer to the leg by a smaller picies because at this point it is most dense so it took more time for it to cook.

Add a few table spoons of rice bran oil into the pot, add diced eggplants, salt them, add few more oil on top (eggplants absorb a lot of oil), close the lid and turn on a small fire. Stir occasionally with a spoon and add few more oil if needed and stew until eggplants are cooked well. Here you can see final result:

In parallel, mince an onion, add oil into a second pot, pour the onion into the pot and fry it until it becomes translucent and soft:

Peal carrots, grate it and pour into the same pot and stew for another 5 minutes:

Mince tomatoes, pour them into the pot and stew, stiring occasionally:

Mince capsicums, pourt into the pot, add some salt and stew until they are well cooked

Pour minced garlic, add black pepper and stew for another 2 minutes. By the way I’m always sneezing when I pour black pepper when cooking. How about you?

Accurately move eggplants without juice from first pot into the second pot (I was told by a friends of mine that eggplant’s juice is a bit bitter) and stew for another 5 minutes:

Ready!

Serve it as a vegetable stew or serve it with rice garnish – up to you!

I was asked a question by a colleague of mine who have been noticing me having this meal during lunch for at least couple of month: do I recon I could become a vegetarian keeping all the physical activities I have and you know, I think I could do. I cant judge for the rest meals but I think it is quite possible to cook vege meals which make you full 🙂

Stay tuned. Get post excerpts, news and other perks not included in RSS, Feedly or somewhere else.

Join 209 other followers and receive monthly newsletter

Ivan Grigoryev's Blog
Living in New Zealand. Blogging about the country, beautiful places, everyday life.
Do a skydive - halfway completed; get 1400 - still working on; reach 300kph - completed by 96.6%

Баклажаны тушеные с овощами

Решил поделиться рецептом весьма годного овощного хрючева, которым меня угощали друзья в Новосибирске. Нам понадобятся: баклажаны 2шт, болгарские перцы 3шт, помидоры 3шт, лук 3шт, морковка 2шт, чеснок пара зубчиков. Время на подготовку: 20 минут. Время на приготовление: 40 минут. У меня, с учетом того что я чистил и тушил овощи поэтапно, а также с учетом фотографирования, на все про все ушло около 90 минут 🙂


Хорошо моем овощи и крошим баклажаны кубиками. Совет: ближе к ножке баклажан лучше резать помельче поскольку в этом месте он наиболее плотный и соответственно на его приготовление может уйти больше времени по сравнению с остальной частью:

Наливаем в кастрюльку растительное масло чтобы скрыть дно, высыпаем туда покрошеные баклажаны, солим, поливаем маслом как следует (баклажаны отлично впитывают масло), ставим на слабый огонь (на сильном огне баклажаны могут запросто подгореть) и закрываем крышкой. Периодически помешиваем и подливаем масло если потребуется и тушим до готовности. На фотографии ниже окончательный результат:

Параллельно с этим крошим лук, наливаем во вторую кастрюльку растительное масло, высыпаем туда лук и обжариваем, пока он не станет прозрачным и мягким:

Чистим морковку, мелко крошим на терке, высыпаем в кастрюльку с луком, тушим еще около 5 минут:

Крошим помидоры, добавляем в кастрюльку, тушим, хорошо помешивая:

Крошим болгарские перцы, высыпаем в кастрюльку, солим и тушим до готовности:

Добавляем мелкопорезанный чеснок, перчим и тушим еще пару минут. Кстати говоря, я вот всегда чихаю, когда добавляю в блюда черный перец. А вы чихаете?

Аккуратно перекладываем из первой кастрюльки во вторую баклажаны без сока (друзья уверяли что сок баклажанов может горчить) и тушим еще 5 минут:

Готово!

Подаем на стол просто как овощное рагу, либо с добавлением риса на гарнир:

P.S Коллега, заметивший что я приношу это блюдо на обед вот уже второй месяц спросил, смог бы я полностью перейти на вегетарианскую диету не отказываясь от физической активности и привычного распорядка дня и вы знаете, мне кажется, что я бы смог. Не скажу про остальные блюда, но конкретно это овощное рагу (в особенности с добавлением риса) делает меня сытым надолго 🙂

Удобный способ не пропустить новое в блоге. Раз в месяц пишу обстоятельное письмо всем читателям: анонсы постов, новости нашей деревни и прочие ништяки, которые не ушли в RSS, Feedly или куда-там еще.

На ежемесячную email рассылку подписаны 200 человек

Мотофотопрограммист
Живу в Новой Зеландии. Рассказываю о стране и красивых местах, пишу про бытовые вещи.
Прыгнуть с парашютом - осуществил на 50%; приобрести 1400 - работаю над этим; осилить 300км/ч - осилил на 96.6%