How to fix the long hang at Windows Update scan

Recently I have noticed that I charge my laptop more often then usual. Under normal conditions it has been running for around 3 hours since last charge however, now it takes less than one hour. Luckily I found out what was the real cause of the issue but honestly, at first was I thinking that battery in my 4 year old laptop is going to die soon. In addition to that at some point my laptop which is usually quiet, started spinning its CPU fan like it was a plane going to take off! I have launched Task Manager and saw every CPU core was going nuts!


I have clicked on Resource Monitor and it turned out svchost.exe (netsvcs) was eating 24% of CPU resources. Damn Windows Updates! I was so pissed off, so I killed svchost.exe process, went to the Control Panel -> System and Security -> Windows Updates -> Change Settings and chose Never check for updates (not recommended). Then I launched services.msc from Start menu, searched for and disabled Windows Update service to prevent it from being started on the next system Startup:

Few weeks later, when I enabled that service back in order to install Windows updates manually, all ended with same result – Windows Update scan was hanging on and did not finish even after few hours eating my CPU resources and! battery.

What I found out this time on the Microsoft support page, in order to fix Windows Update unusually taking long time to scan and install updates, you have to MANUALLY download and install the following two updates for the Windows Update service (sick!) one by one:

  • KB3020369 April 2015 servicing stack update for Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 32-bit or 64-bit
  • KB3172605 July 2016 update rollup for Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 32-bit or 64-bit

Install KB3020369 update first and then after KB3020369 completes installation, install KB3172605. You will be asked to restart the computer during the installation of KB3172605. Now open Windows Update, select Change Settings, click the dropdown and select Install updates automatically (recommended).

Good luck!

Stay tuned. Get post excerpts, news and other perks not included in RSS, Feedly or somewhere else.

Join 207 other followers and receive monthly newsletter

Ivan Grigoryev's Blog
Living in New Zealand. Blogging about the country, beautiful places, everyday life.
Do a skydive - halfway completed; get 1400 - still working on; reach 300kph - completed by 96.6%

Как исправить зависание центра обновлений Windows при поиске обновлений

С недавних пор заметил, что стал заряжать свой Zenbook чаще, чем обычно. Вместо трех с небольшим часов которых хватало после последней зарядки в обычном режиме работы, ноутбук стал требовать кабель уже практически через час автономной работы. Хорошо, что я разобрался в чем было дело, поскольку уже было начал думать что батарея, которой как и ноутбуку недавно исполнилось 4 года, начала проситься на покой. В добавление ко всему сказанному, в какой-то момент зенбук, который работает очень тихо, стал ни с того ни с сего раскручивать вентилятор процессора так, как будто бы собирался на взлет! Запустил диспетчер задач и увидел, что практически все ядра процессора посходили с ума:


Кликнул на Монитор Ресурсов и выяснил, что svchost.exe (netsvcs) выжирал 24% ресурсов процессора. Долбаные обновления Windows! Я был так раздражен, что кильнул процесс svchost, зашел в Панель Управления -> Система и безопасность -> Центр обновления Windows -> Настройка параметров и изменил настройки важных обновлений на «Не проверять наличие обновлений (не рекомендуется)». Затем запустил services.msc из меню Пуск, нашел и отключил службу Центр обновления Windows, чтобы предотвратить ее запуск при следующей перезагрузке ноутбука:

Несколькими неделями позднее, когда я снова включил эту службу, чтобы установить обновления Windows в ручном режиме, все закончилось тем же самым — Поиск обновлений для компьютера «зависал» на поиске обновлений и не смог завершиться даже через два часа после начала сканирования, выжирая ресурсы процессора и батареи.

На этот раз через сайт тех поддержки Microsoft мне удалось узнать что для того, чтобы исправить проблему зависания центра обновлений, которому требуется необычно долгое время для поиска обновлений, необходимо ВРУЧНУЮ загрузить и установить следующие два обновления Центра Обновлений Windows (УПРЛС!), один за другим:

  • KB3020369 April 2015 servicing stack update for Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 32-bit or 64-bit
  • KB3172605 July 2016 update rollup for Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 32-bit or 64-bit

Установите обновление KB3020369 а затем как только оно завершит установку, запустите обновление KB3172605. Перезагрузите компьютер после завершения установки KB3172605. Теперь откройте Центр Обновления Windows и измените настройки на «Устанавливать обновления автоматически (рекомендуется).»

Всем удачи!

Удобный способ не пропустить новое в блоге. Подписывайтесь по Email, RSS или куда более модный Feedly!

На ежемесячную email рассылку + бонус подписаны 164 человек

Мотофотопрограммист
Живу в Новой Зеландии. Рассказываю о стране и красивых местах, пишу про бытовые вещи.
Прыгнуть с парашютом - осуществил на 50%; приобрести 1400 - работаю над этим; осилить 300км/ч - осилил на 96.6%