South Island 2014 Westport – Hokitika

Everything is relative or Highlander’s boot is bigger! The only drawback is its fuel consumption which is 10.5 littres of petrol on motorway! 🙂 Luckily we had slept a lot, instead of 5-6 hours we slept 7. We made a breakfast and moved to Pancake rocks. Road near the rocks are very windy so don’t be surprised if you will cross the line and enter oncoming lane 😐




After Pancake rocks we drove to Arthur Pass, which connects West and East Coast of South Island


There were around 5 one way bridges and few very cool lookouts on the way:


Road through Arthur Pass is very steep and tough. Forester was changing gears from 3rd to 2nd many times. There is almost none fuel stations here, keep in mind, the only one fuel station in Arthur Pass village can fuel you up with diesel or 91 petrol for $2.30 per one littre, but it closes at 5PM.


We had a mushroom soup for lunch at Wobling Kea. We have strong will and we are trying to avoid junk food and haven’t eaten any burger or chips at all.


We walked on a few hiking tracks in Arthur Pass including the most popular Devils bowl punch:


At the last lookout we were attacked by feathery pirates. Marina was scared and locked herself in a car. First kea was diverting us while his companion landed on car’s roof and tried to eat car’s plastic


On the back way we had tried how long you can drive when your fuel lamp which indicates your tank is empty is turned on 🙂 We drove 70kilometers and fueled up in a small village using automated fuel pump. Hokitika is beautiful. At the evening, after having some kind of political talks with kiwi and ozzie about Ukrain we had visited Glow worms forest:


P.s Forester’s fuel consumption is 8.2 littres per 100km in average.

Stay tuned. Get post excerpts, news and other perks not included in RSS, Feedly or somewhere else.

Join 184 other followers and receive monthly newsletter

Ivan Grigoryev's Blog
Living in New Zealand. Blogging about the country, beautiful places, everyday life.
Do a skydive - halfway completed; get 1400 - still working on; reach 300kph - completed by 96.6%

Южный Остров 2014, Вестпорт — Хокитика

Все познается в сравнении, или багажник Highlander больше! Жрет только, сволочь, 10.5 литров на трассе 🙂 Наконец-то получилось выспаться — вместо 5-6 часов на сон, вышли почти полноценные семь. Сообразили завтрак и тронулись до Pancake rocks. Трасса непосредственно возле блинчатых скал достаточно извилистая — не удивляйтесь, если вас чуть-чуть вынесет на встречку. Совсем чуть-чуть 😐



После, поехали в сторону перевала Arthur Pass, соединяющего западное и восточное побережье Южного острова

По пути было около пяти односторонних мостов с приоритетом не в нашу пользу, и несколько весьма клевых лукаутов по обе стороны дороги:

Дорога через перевал очень тяжелая и крутая. Форестер постоянно переключался с третьей на вторую. С заправками на перевале и до него как-то не очень. Единственная заправка в одноименной деревне заправляет дизелем и 91м по $2.30 за литр. Заправка как и кафе возле работают до 5 часов.

Отобедали в Wobling Kea — взяли грибной суп пюре. Вообще, мы молодцы и стараемся придерживаться здорового питания и не съели ни одного бюргера или всяких-там чипсов.

В Артур пасс обошли несколько маленьких треков, в том числе самый известный до водопада Devils bowl punch:

На последнем лукауте нас атаковали пернатые разбойники. Марина сразу же испугалась и закрылась в машине. Первый попугай кеа отвлекал наше внимание, а второй тем временем забрался на крышу и пытался отгрызть пластик с машины

На обратном пути у нас была возможность узнать сколько можно проехать на последнем, шестом делении после загорания лампочки 🙂 Проехали 70км и заправились в небольшой деревеньке на круглосуточной автоматической бензоколонке. Хокитика красивый. Вечером, после околополитических разговоров с новозеландцем и австралийцем на тему юкрейн посетили Glow worms forest:

P.s Расход форестера держится на уровне 8.2 литров на сотню.

  • 5

Удобный способ не пропустить новое в блоге. Раз в месяц пишу обстоятельное письмо всем читателям: анонсы постов, новости нашей деревни и прочие ништяки, которые не ушли в RSS, Feedly или куда-там еще.

На ежемесячную email рассылку подписаны 183 человек

Мотофотопрограммист
Живу в Новой Зеландии. Рассказываю о стране и красивых местах, пишу про бытовые вещи.
Прыгнуть с парашютом - осуществил на 50%; приобрести 1400 - работаю над этим; осилить 300км/ч - осилил на 96.6%